Asset 1SWN


FIFA Awards: Lewandowski, Bronze crowned as the best for 2020



MONITORING (SW) – Robert Lewandowski has been crowned as the best football player among men while Lucy Bronze as the best among women.

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2020 ceremony was held as a virtual event at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.

Poland and FC Bayern München striker Lewandowski was named The Best FIFA Men’s Player for the first time in his career. Likewise, defender Bronze is also a maiden recipient of The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award after rounding off an impeccable spell with Olympique Lyonnais in style before returning to England to play for Manchester City WFC, said FIFA.

Teams of the year

Thousands of football players from around the world cast their votes for this year’s FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11 and FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11 selections:

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11:

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Liverpool FC)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool FC), Alphonso Davies* (FC Bayern München), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF) and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC)

Midfielders: Thiago Alcântara (FC Bayern München/Liverpool FC), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC) and Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern München)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus FC), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern München) and Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)

* Alphonso Davies was included as a fourth defender in accordance with the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11 Rules of Allocation.

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11:

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City WFC) and Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)

Midfielders: Barbara Bonansea (Juventus Women), Verónica Boquete (Utah Royals/AC Milan Women) and Delphine Cascarino (Olympique Lyonnais)

Forwards: Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC Women), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns/Manchester United WFC), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal WFC) and Megan Rapinoe* (OL Reign)

* Megan Rapinoe was included as a fourth forward in accordance with the FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11 Rules of Allocation.

The winners of The Best player, goalkeeper and coach awards were determined through a voting process in which four groups had an equal say: football fans, selected media representatives, and the captains and head coaches of national teams from around the globe.

A breakdown of the voting results, including each nominee’s points total, is available here.

The voting procedure was supervised and monitored by the independent observer PricewaterhouseCoopers Switzerland. For more details about the voting process for each award, consult the respective



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
More in News

Salam Watandar in Social Networks